No such thing as coincidence…

Today I began to reflect on the Advent season – the time we, as Christians, eagerly await and prepare for the coming and birth of our King, Jesus Christ. Advent is actually the latin word for “coming”, which I found fitting as not too long ago, I was preparing for my coming to Japan, and now here I am only in my second day. I thought this to be fortuitous, but since I don’t believe in coincidences, I rendered it a sign among many that this upcoming year will be one of spiritual growth and true trust. I also found it amazing that this new journey coincides with the Jubilee Year of Mercy, which began today on the feast day of the Immaculate Conception. Blessings on blessing on blessings. My reflection today brought me back to last year where I stood before a JAPANESE representation of the Annunciation located in the Basilica of the Annunciation in Nazareth. I focused on this one the most. In retrospect, perhaps in that moment, I was destined to be here because it was already written in my heart. Admittedly, I am eternally grateful to one of my best friends, who I call Jem, as he bridged me to this now ten-year-old dream, but meeting him coupled with my heart’s desire to live here could only confirm that there is no such thing as coincidence, but a divine plan.

Happy feast day of the Immaculate Conception and Jubilee Year of Mercy my friends. I am praying for you all.

IMG_2947.jpg
Japanese mosaic of the Madonna and her chid Jesus in the Basilica of the Annunciation located in Nazareth, Israel
IMG_2926
Basilica of the Annunciation
Leave a Reply

