My Bus Stop Adventure

This morning, I took public transit for the first time, both the bus and train. Since I do not have a phone with data or GPS yet, this experience felt like time travel to the days where GPS didn’t exist in all the land and all you had was your intuition to guide you. Man, how did they do it in ancient times?! Skills! I didn’t have the address of the bus stop so I couldn’t map out my route in my apartment where I, at least, have wifi. During my quest to find the bus stop, I realized how the seemingly mundane things back home –  like taking the bus – is so much of an adventure here. Some would have rendered it a hassle or hurdle – and at first I did because not knowing where anything is and being extremely limited in the language could mean being SO lost! – but I decided not to worry. What would that accomplish? I called to mind a man I met during my travels to Spain this past summer. He was an Argentinian man who moved to Barcelona to bake French pastries. In reference to moving to an entirely different culture and place with a language you barely know, he said, “Enjoy everything, even the bad things.” In the heat of Barcelona’s summer, I thought about what this baker said, who left his life behind to pursue his dream abroad, something I’ve always wanted to do. Why enjoy the bad things? I thought. And then it hit me, I interpreted his advice as this: enjoying everything means you must wear the right attitude, because with the right attitude, one becomes more adaptable, which will make change easier to embrace; that, then, translates into more enjoyment; as for the bad things, don’t sweat it! Come what may. We hope for a relatively smooth journey with gratifying experiences, but it’s the bad things that really grow and mold us into stronger and wiser people. I smiled, and suddenly, potentially getting lost did not seem to bother me so much. Thus, seeking the bus stop was an adventure. I decided to be positive. We have the power to choose after all, and ultimately, our choices are what make us. Anyway, lucky for me, I easily found the bus stop today and, despite the little Japanese I know (since I had to ask for directions), I was able to navigate the train station – a labyrinth in its own right. I thanked God for these small yet substantial blessings; for they were.

Leave a Reply

