Mayday

Mayday is described as: “an emergency procedure word used internationally as a distress signal in voice procedure radio communications. It is used to signal a life-threatening emergency primarily by aviators and mariners, but in some countries local organizations such as firefighterspolice forces, and transportation organizations also use the term.”

So, I’ve been in a state of mayday or personal emergency (hence an unusual hiatus in my blog). And how serendipitous it is that it happened in May. In this context though, my emergency was not merely physical, but spiritual. As you know, I’ve been trying to cultivate my virtues, and for awhile I’d been really successful. But now, this is obvious: of course I’d been successful, nothing was opposing them. Then, May started, and it was as if I “graduated” from the easy level and was immediately placed in the difficult, more advanced level. Have you ever played Mario? I went from gliding through a land of green, eating mushrooms and growing to the next dimension with more spiked balls, lava pits, and rapacious, deadly flowers. Many battles were lost, and I had to start over. So, I’m starting over, again. Something about a new month makes me feel hopeful; makes me feel stronger. Have you seen Mulan? Because I pulled a Mulan. Before she heads off to battle on behalf of her father, Mulan cuts off her hair with her father’s sword! So, I chopped off my hair in preparation for this next battle; I didn’t have a sword so my shoddy scissors had to do. I didn’t care, I just wanted a visible indicator of a new start. It’s something. My armor is falling apart, so I must work to repair it, restore it. I will repeat this again from Ephesians:

“Put on the armor of God so that you may be able to stand firm against the tactics of the devil. For our struggle is not with flesh and blood but with the principalities, with the powers, with the world rulers of this present darkness, with the evil spirits in the heavens.”

My battle is not with mere mortals but with myself, and the voices and inclinations and weaknesses inside that threaten to take hold of me.

Battles have been lost, but the war shall be won.

Now is the time to truly exhibit the virtues I’ve been working so hard to embody. Now is the time to rise up. I know that I can’t, but God CAN. Because His power is made perfect in weakness. Now is the time to stand up.

Battles have been lost, but the war shall be won.

image

Leave a Reply

