30 Before 30 Day 6: Here

6. We are where we’re supposed to be: Here

In my mid-twenties, I often fretted about how I’d imagined to be somewhere different, disappointed that certain plans didn’t pan out the way they were supposed to, and then I realized this:

“What screws us up the most in life is the picture in our heads of how it’s supposed to be”

…you can plan and plan all you want, but if the result isn’t what you expected, accept it, work with it; sometimes it is through life’s imperfections we find the most perfect moments. And that’s how it’s been since. I’ve learned that sometimes, we have to roll with the punches, and that the best things in life really do come unexpected; that sometimes the worst decisions we’ll ever make puts us directly on the path we were meant to be on, the happy path. I’ve learned to do my best and make the best of everything even when I don’t have the best of everything, and with that comes acceptance; and with that, I’ve learned we are where we’re supposed to be no matter what has happened in our lives. It’s not from the past where we can make a choice to change our path, it’s from now, this moment, here.

image

Usseau, France

Leave a Reply

