30 Before 30 Day 19: Ahead

19. There are far better things ahead than what we leave behind.

I wanted to cling to so many great moments I had in my 20s, but I realized it would inhibit me from moving on. I knew I had to let go but it was difficult because I somehow felt like my “glory days” were behind me. Later in life I discovered that this wasn’t true. Frank Sinatra said it best when he sang “the best is yet to come.” While we should hold those wonderful memories in our hearts, we should not want to go back to them so badly that it prevents us from enthusiastically moving on. Leaving part of us in the past means we are not putting our entire selves in the now; we are not being fully present; we are not open to the good things still to come. So treasure those memories, the people, the places, the things that lit up your life but know it doesn’t end there. You know when you have to let go and move on, so do just that. Because, truly, there are far better things ahead than what we leave behind. We just have to be open to it.

image

San Simeon, California USA

Leave a Reply

