The Struggle Is Real – Being New to a Language

I just watched Love Actually – a romantic comedy that was released some years ago – and there was a scene in there that, I think, perfectly encapsulates the reality of being new to speaking a different language. It made me think, gees, this is probably how I sound when I’m speaking Japanese!!! Actually, I’m sure this is exactly how I sound! In this scene, the character – Jamie – is about to propose to Aurelia. The script below is the English subtitle / translation / reflection of Jamie’s newly learned Portuguese (and Aurelia’s newly learned English):

[in Portuguese] 

Jamie: Beautiful Aurelia, I’ve come here with a view of asking you to marriage me. I know I seems an insane person – because I hardly knows you – but sometimes things are so transparency, they don’t need evidential proof. And I will inhabit here, or you can inhabit with me in England. 

[Jamie has just proposed to Aurelia]

Aurelia: [in English] Thank you. That will be nice. Yes is being my answer. Easy question.

Jamie: You learned English?

Aurelia: Just in cases.

Yup, the struggle is real…but I’m trying my best! And usually, my Japanese friends will tell me when my Japanese sounds strange…but when they’re not there to tell me so, all that matters is that I get the point across, right? Lol

image

Onomichi, Japan

Leave a Reply

