Seven Years

I rearranged some of the lyrics to “7 Years” (originally written by Lucas Graham) to tell my story:

Once I was 7 years old my mama took me and my brother from our father so we could live freely

Once I was 7 years old

It was a scary world, I thought I wouldn’t make it
The kids were smarter, all were triggers so I had to fake it

By 11 I was lying, pretending I was on it
Never rich so hid the truth and acted like I had it

Once I was 11 years old

I had no daddy to tell his little princess that she was so pretty

Once I was 11 years old

Deep down I wanted love, I wanted validation so I started writing stories, started my creations
Somebody noticed it, made real my imagination
But he used me, didn’t see it, started self-destructing

Once I was 20 years old

My story got told before the morning sun when life was lonely

Once I was 20 years old

I used to hate myself, but then I started seeing
True beauty lies in one’s convictions and the strength of being
On my knees I fought my battles
My purpose is creating
And all these struggles, all these trials give my life its meaning

Once I was 20 years old

My story got told
I was writing about everything I saw before me

Once I was 20 years old

Soon we’ll be 30 years old

Made something of ourselves
We’ve traveled around the world and we’re still roaming

Soon we’ll be 30 years old

I’m still learning about life
It’s been a crazy journey
But here I stand 20 years later
Feeling a peace within me
God’s got my back, I feel loved
To Him be all the glory
Thank you to family and friends
Still here and those behind me

Soon I’ll be sixty years old, my mama got sixty-one

Remember life, and then your life becomes a better one
I made a man so happy when I wrote a letter once
I got a man who makes me happy, makes me feel so loved

Soon I’ll be sixty years old, will I think the world is cold

Or will I have a lot of children who can warm me?

Soon I’ll be sixty years old

Soon I’ll be sixty years old, will I think the world is cold

Or will I have a lot of children who can warm me?

Soon I’ll be sixty years old

 

Once I was seven years old, my mama told me,

“Be strong, work hard, believe so you can live freely.”

Once I was seven years old

 

Once I was seven years old

image

Kobe, Japan

Leave a Reply

