Young Girls

Dear God,

This part in this song, strangely at first, resonated with me. And then I realized that the “young girls” in this song is a personal metaphor for my greatest weakness. Thus, it made sense. 

[CHORUS]
All you young wild girls / You make a mess of me

Yeah, you young wild girls / You’ll be the death of me, the death of me

All you young wild girls / No matter what you do

Yeah, you young wild girls / I’ll always come back to you, come back to you

[Verse 2]

I get lost under these lights / I get lost in the words I say

Start believing my own lies / Like “Everything will be okay”

Oh, I still dream of a simple life / Boy meets girl, makes her his wife

But love don’t exist / When you live like this

That much I know, yes I know
[PRE-CHORUS]

All these roads steer me wrong / But I still drive them all night long, all night long

[CHORUS]

All you young wild girls / You make a mess of me

Yeah, you young wild girls / You’ll be the death of me, the death of me

All you young wild girls / No matter what you do

Yeah, you young wild girls / I’ll always come back to you, come back to you /

The goal, however, is to never come back to it, or at the very least, to keep it at bay so that it no longer consumes. 

Dona nobis pacem.

Yours Truly,

M

Leave a Reply

